Romantic Realism

Author: Bagande

I’m not a girly girl and I’m not really much of a romantic. I know that’s probably pretty hard to believe after all my talk of fairy tales and Disney movies, but the truth is that I’m not really into the classic notions of romance. I don’t do roses and fancy dinners and sparkly jewellery, and the idea of a big wedding completely boggles me.

 

And I really, really hate Valentine’s day.

 

The truth of the matter is that while I like big romantic happily ever afters in films and books, in real life it just doesn’t make sense to me. It seems like a whole lot of fuss over nothing important.

 

I’m not saying that I don’t believe in love, or that I think love isn’t worth celebrating. I’m just a bit more practical when it comes to expressing it. I don’t like the grand romantic gestures.

 

I like the little stuff.

 

I like spending a comfortable night in, watching a film or playing video games. I like the simple companionship of just existing together in the same place. I don’t want elaborate displays of affection or expensive gifts. I want someone who will help me fold laundry and buy me that new film I wanted to see.

 

I guess when it comes down to it, I just feel like romance is too overstated. People make such a spectacle of it. Do you really need to spend a year planning and thousands of dollars on a wedding, making it into such a show that the focus is on the material instead of the love that you’re vowing? Can’t we just let love speak for itself?

 

Call me crazy but I don’t want a prince charming who will sweep in and carry me away to live forever in a castle. I don’t want to be waited on or to be showered with affection on that one day a year. If I’m going to spend the rest of my life with someone, I want them to be real. To tease me and fight with me and who enjoys my company. I just want someone who wants to be at my side; an equal and partner.

 

I want a best friend. Or, you know, a best friend with benefits, I suppose.

 

Is it just me or does our modern culture romanticise romance?

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Got Opinions? Leave 'em Below!

