Help I’m Stuck in The Rut!

Wow I have been having a terrible time with trying to write blog posts lately. That’s why, for those of you who follow me, I have been posting a long string of old poems and short stories just to have something posted each day. I did so well for about two months and now suddenly it feels like my well is dry. I sit down, pick a topic and sometimes even a tentative title, and then I stare at the blank screen. And stare, and stare, and stare.

After a while you really start to hate that little blinking cursor. Popping in and out of existence there at the beginning of your empty document, taunting you with its promise of productivity and providing nothing but an annoying distraction.

Maybe I’m being a little melodramatic…

The thing is though, I think I’ve fallen into a bit of a rut. This might be in part attributed to the fact that school has started up again, and getting the reading list for this semester was a bit of a blow. (Twenty novels in thirteen weeks. AH!) It might be that it’s getting down to crunch time in my preparations for my big spring break trip out of country – 7 weeks! – and I’m stressing out about that.

But really, if  you want the honest truth, it’s all my muses fault.

See, my muse has a pretty one-track mind. It can literally only focus it’s attention on one genre at a time. So when I started this blog two months ago, it was because I was stuck on my novel and I was using this as an excuse to force myself to write something. Well in the last week my original fic muse has geared back into life. It does this so rarely that I’ve been devoting all of my attention to milking this burst of energy for all it’s worth, which means my poor little blog has fallen by the wayside.

God, if I treat my children like I treat my writing babies, I’m going to be a terrible mother.

What am I even talking about anymore? Oh right, The Rut.

I can say with a fair bit of certainty that every single person on this site has at some point experienced The Rut. Your writing is going along swimmingly and then suddenly you get high-centred in a ditch. You can try and stamp on that accelerator all you want but all you’re doing is spinning your tyres, probably kicking  up quite a bit of dirt in the process. There are tricks you can use to try and help, and if you’re lucky maybe one of them actually works, but in the end the odds are that you’re going to have to call for a tow.

This is me calling for a tow.

I need your help to get me out of this ditch. I just passed seventy-five followers, so I know there are a few of you out there reading this. To get myself writing, about anything, I am asking for your suggestions.

Got a topic you want me to share an opinion on? One of my previous stories you want me to elaborate? Want me to write a poem about a noodle?

Leave suggestions in the comments and I promise that I will fill them all, no matter how ridiculous they are. It’s my payment to you for pulling me out of this ditch.

Also my payment for reaching 75 subscribers! Holy crap where did you all come from?! I never in my wildest dreams thought my silly ramblings and half-assed flash fiction would ever gain this size of a following, and I want to thank you all every day for your support.

Cheers and musketeers!

Enhanced by Zemanta
5 thoughts on “Help I’m Stuck in The Rut!

  1. I’m not a writer, but when I get stuck in a rut I tend do do as you have done and look to my past work. I have found that can sometimes inspire new work, but not nearly as well as just getting away for a little while. Get out and see something new. Being in the military has helped me a little with that, but after 3 months of walking out into the city around post here in Korea, everything started to look the same. I found myself going to the same area a lot. One day I marked my starting location on my gps and just wandered aimlessly. I finally ended up on the edge of the city atop a hill looking over a lake. This was what I had been looking for but hadn’t realized it. While the city had many beautiful sights, it was natural beauty that I had been missing, and it all started by simply getting away from my usual routine and just walking.
    So here’s my challenge for you: get out of the rut that’s causing your writer’s block by changing up your routine. Your trip to London should help, but it doesn’t always have to be something that big. It’s the little things that cause the biggest changes. Good luck! I look forward to reading your novel.

  2. Just keep writing. So what if you miss writing posts. Do you really have to post every day? Why all this pressure? And what about your novel? Where’s that going? Maybe you can blog about that.

    • That’s a great idea, I’d never really thought about blogging about my book. I suppose I’m used to not talking about it because I chattered about it to the fam and friends so much they sigh every time I mention it now haha.

      Thanks Carol, I appreciate your help!

  3. Everyone gets that sometimes. God knows I’ve lived in my rut for years. The only way to get out of it is to say “Screw the rut” and just force yourself to write. It may not be great, but at least it’s something. Looking up prompts on the web may help with that as well! Good luck. Oh, and I’d love to read a poem about noodles 🙂

Got Opinions? Leave 'em Below!

