Daily Prompt: Fast Forward

Television remote control

If you could fast forward to a specific date in the future, when would it be?

As someone living through those awkward years of early adulthood, this is the sort of thing I’ve considered more than once. “Wouldn’t it be easier to just skip these horrible years of finding myself and getting settled into my skin? Wouldn’t it be better to just get to the good stuff?”

Everything about the early twenties is just one long existential crisis.  It’s terrible and uncomfortable. It’s painful, full of life lessons that aren’t fun to learn, and leads to a lot of emotional trauma. 

The thing is though, the more of the horrible, awkward, tediousness that I live through, the more I realise just how great it actually is. Without it, the good things wouldn’t seem good.

So when would I fast forward to?

I wouldn’t. Because life is the good and the bad, and I wouldn’t want to miss a second of it.

Except maybe this flu. I wouldn’t mind skipping over this flu…

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
10 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Fast Forward

Got Opinions? Leave 'em Below!

