Daily Prompt | Truth or Dare

Is it possible to be too honest, or is honesty always the best policy?

As a general rule, I try to always be an honest person. When asked a question, I always give my genuine opinion. But I will be the first to admit that there are definitely some questions where giving an honest answer can get you in trouble.

The thing is, a lot of those times, the people who ask aren’t looking for the truth. They are looking for comfort and reassurance. Like when a woman asks if her jeans make her look fat. She doesn’t actually care whether you think she looks fat, she’s just fishing for compliments.

So if we want a more honest world, shouldn’t we go back to the source. It’s not the answers that are the real problem. It’s the questions.

Stop asking questions if you don’t want to hear the answers!

(Can you tell this is a pet peeve of mine?)

Really though, I am one of those people who tries to be completely honest in every situation I can. I may be a bit prone to exaggeration, but I try to never outright lie. That being said, I’m a fiction writer. I lie for a living, so sometimes I slip up.

I would really always rather people be honest with me as well. I’m anti-social so if I am making the effort to actually ask a question, I want a real answer. Be honest with me and I will afford you the same courtesy.

So feel free to ask me anything in the comments and I will answer – Honestly!

 

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt | Truth or Dare

  1. Pingback: A Shade Of Pen

Got Opinions? Leave 'em Below!

