Daily Prompt: Quirk of Habit

Which quirky habit annoys you the most, and what quirky habit do you love ā€” in yourself, or others.

I have a lot of quirky habits that I’ve picked up through the years. Some of them I’ve consciously trained myself to do, such as my ability to swallow back my sneezes which results in a tiny squeak of a sneeze. My friends have taken to calling it a mouse sneeze. Others are ones I’ve either always done or that I’ve grown into at some point, half of which I don’t even realise that I’m doing.

Now I will admit straight off that I am a compulsive tapper. I drum on things with my fingers, writing utensils, silverware, even my feet. I’m like a human metronome, always tapping out a beat. I know it drives a lot of people completely mental too. I get things thrown at me at work on occasion because of it.

I also have a funny habit of talking to myself. Like, all the time. And not just muttering aloud the things I’m typing or the math problem I’m trying to figure out, although I do that too. I mean holding legitimate, back-and-forth conversations with myself under my breath. I also sing to myself. All without noticing that I’m doing it usually.

There are a couple compulsive ticks I’ve picked up as well. For instance I have to eat little candies like M&Ms or Skittles two at a time, and they have to be two different colours. Or I arrange things in lines, or stack them. And I obsessively fold things, even before throwing them away. I click my tongue when I’m stressed.

Another of my weird quirks is a bit harder to fully explain. You know when you’re having an internal dialogue with yourself? Well I’ve picked up the habit of making facial expressions along with my internal dialogue, or with what I’m reading. It lends to me making a lot of unusual faces for no apparent reason.

In fact I’ve just noticed that I’ve been doing that the entire time I’ve been writing this. No wonders my mum’s giving me that look…

 

Enhanced by Zemanta